We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Bloodgrass Vol. I EP

by Heathen Apostles

Summertime 04:21
Dark Days 04:13
Lady in Gold 03:47


The Heathen Apostles are proud to announce the release of "Bloodgrass Vol. I", their new 5 song EP on Ratchet Blade Records. The band plans on making the Bloodgrass EPs a reoccurring series, situated between their regular full length album releases.
Indeed, the EP includes their darkened take of Doc Watson's bluegrass version of the Gershwin classic "Summertime", as well as a moving reading of Darrell Scott's gut-wrenching "You'll Never Leave Harlan Alive". Add these to the three Gothic Americana originals: "Death Came a Ridin'" (revisiting the dangerous territory of prior favorites "The Reckoning" and "Death's Head"), "Dark Days" (bluegrass-tinged gypsy jazz) and "Lady in Gold" (a haunting melody sung over driving bluegrass instrumentation).


released December 15, 2017

Mather Louth - vocals
Chopper Franklin - guitar, mandolin, banjo, keyboards, drums
Thomas Lorioux - bass
Luis Mascaro - violin

Produced by Chopper Franklin

All songs Louth/Franklin except "Summertime" (Gershwin, Gershwin, Heywood) and "You'll Never Leave Harlan Alive" (Scott)


all rights reserved



Heathen Apostles Los Angeles, California

"If there is such a thing in the current fringe roots genre as a supergroup, it would certainly be the Los Angeles-based dark roots and gothic country band Heathen Apostles, who includes ex-members of Radio Noir (Mather Louth), The Cramps (Chopper Franklin), Kings of Nuthin’ (Thomas Lorioux), and Christian Death (Stevyn Grey) in its ranks. That is one hell of a lineup." - No Depression Magazine ... more

contact / help

Contact Heathen Apostles

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Heathen Apostles, you may also like: